1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Is it too late to start planting borders?

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by NewBhoy, Jul 16, 2015.

1. NewBhoy

NewBhoy Gardener

Ratings:
    +67
    Hi all,

I'm very new to gardening and I have some new, bare borders and beds in my garden at the moment and I was hoping for advice on a couple of things.

Is it too late in the season to start planting the borders, many of the plants, websites etc. seem to advise spring for most planting?

The soil is currently "industrial clay" as I would describe it. Should I just concentrate on turning that into something useable and sustainable this year?

Finally, if leaving things till spring is the best option option can I buy some plants/ shrubs just now and grow in pots until next year? Just to start collecting and save having to buy so much next year.

Thanks, Patrick

• Like Like x 2
    • Friendly Friendly x 2
    • JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
      +46,155
      Yes you will need to improve that, add a 2" layer of mushroom compost over the winter and worms will do a lot of the work for you.

In the mean time you could plant some things now in containers, by next year when your soil is improved you can plant out, also they will be bigger.

• Agree Agree x 4
      • NewBhoy

NewBhoy Gardener

Ratings:
        +67