Lawn help

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by 6434N, Apr 5, 2020.

1. 6434N

6434N Apprentice Gardener

Civil Engineer/Royal Engineer
    Ratings:
    +14
    Looking for some advice about my lawn. I've been working away from home for the last 2 years and haven't really been able to attend to the lawn. Now that I'm back I'd like to start getting it sorted.

Previously I built some decking and now I've removed it in order to install composite decking and a larger slabbed area. I've also installed a bark border around the garden as I hated the way the grass grew up against the fence/wall. There is an odd shaped corner which I've just placed some sleepers in to put a small 2 tier raised bed in which will be named Thor's corner after our bunny who passed in November.

Overview pictures:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

My issues are as follows:

1) The border is nice and straight but there are these weeds and clumps of grass which grow right on the edge, do I need to put a metal/wood separator along the edge to stop this?

2) At some point, the garden as overtaken by these weeds:

[​IMG]

What are they and how do I kill them? They cover the whole garden, see pictures above.

3) These have popped up in the last year, not sure what they are either:

[​IMG]

4) The grass is very mossy, drainage issue possibly? See pictures above. The makeup is heavy clay which was dressed with sharp sand by the house builder which has been rotovated and compost and topsoil added in and then seeded back in 2017. One of the above pictures shows the lay of the land.

After the decking and slabs are done I was thinking about completely killing the grass and having turf laid. How will my weed issue effect that?

2. Perki

Perki Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +8,371