Level garden and create a lawn - advice please

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by markocosic, Jun 18, 2019.

1. markocosic

markocosic Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

Newbie here, Cambridge CB4, wanting a lawn. Sketchup attached if useful. Lawn area to be about 7m x 7m after a 3.5m deck extends rearwards from house.

There's a fall from front to rear of ~ 200 mm that wants levelling / lifting. (gravelboards at the back need lifting about 150 mm and want at least 50 mm cover) Sketchup says 11.5-14 cubic metres depending on how I measure.

Existing soil is ~12" of "topsoil" (clay with some dark brown bits in), 12-18" of "subsoil (lighter clay that sets fairly hard in the summer sun), then sand/gravel. It's compacted to all heck and what "grass" there is is self seeded weeds that I'll glyphosphate into oblivion.

It gets cooked in the summer when the sun is high enough to rise above the flats to the south. It gets shade in the winter when it isn't. It doesn't rain so much/so often in Cambridge (500 mm) vs back home (West Wales, 1,000 mm)

No children but let's assume at some point I'll either flip the house to a young couple OR rent it out so the lawn wants to be relatively idiot proof. A rotary battery lawnmower job not a cylinder mower and stripes.

Happy to turf rather than seed (impatient enough to buy turf rather than seed).

Would like to grow some plants against the fence in due course. Likely a vine above the deck and some fruit trees around the fence panels if this makes any odds whatsoever.

Easy access is 110 cm width down side alley except for the gas meter. Without the cover it can be ~95 cm. Access 175 cm width possible by removing exceedingly heavy fence panel and gravel board and crossing other land that's currently full of rubbish.

Probably a job for a landscaper even if I have always wanted to play with a mini digger but advice on what to ask for welcome!