1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Leylandii hedging conifer

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Steve M, Jul 13, 2009.

1. Steve M

Steve M Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all

i am a total novice! i currently have a horid wooden fence backing on to a small stream (more like an overflow for the small stream.

I am thinking of chopping down the fence and planting some of these conifers. how do they cope with VERY wet soil?

2. Aesculus

Aesculus Bureaucrat 34 (Admin)

Cashier
    Ratings:
    +1,337
    I highly recommend that you don't plant leylandii use something else at all costs:hehe:

3. Sussexgardener

Sussexgardener Gardener

Ratings:
    +41
    You will come to regret it if you plant Leylandii!

4. clueless1

clueless1 member... yep, that's what I am:)

Ratings:
    +19,596
    I'll add to the theme so far by saying that Leylandii would be a terrible choice.