1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Looking for Inspiration...

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by Phil1, Apr 9, 2014.

1. Phil1

Phil1 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys! Newbie here!

I'm looking for some inspiration on what to do with the current garden.

We had it cleared, partially levelled and some decking put down so we've more usable space. I'm struggling to think of what to do with the rest of the area though.

It's on a very steep slope (as you can probably tell by the steps) and it's pretty tough going in terms of digging (lots of stones and clay about 6" down).
    Another thing I struggle with is horsetail/mares-tail which is coming through from the neighbours side. I do have some Curtail which seemed to kill it last year but it was a bit late in the year to start properly.

I'm thinking some shrubs of some sort towards the top just below the flag stones, and perhaps some turf at the very top between the flag stones and the fence?

The rest of the area I've no idea really!

I'd prefer not to have too much towards the bottom as the retaining part of the decking is used as a bench also.

[​IMG]

You'll have to try and ignore the crap on the right hand side, and the piles at the top, they're going to the tip shortly!

2. DIY-Dave

DIY-Dave Gardener

Ratings:
    +772
    Hi Phil1 and welcome.