1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Making a pergola out of an existing structure

Discussion in 'Garden Projects and DIY' started by IttyBittyGreenSpace, Mar 7, 2022.

1. IttyBittyGreenSpace

IttyBittyGreenSpace Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +2
    Hi, everyone! I'm a newbie here and need some advice on my newest garden project. I hope I put this in the appropriate subforum.

I have an odd structure surrounding our backyard patio. It's like a pergola, but without a roof, with sliding glass doors on the short ends to create some shelter from the strong winds we have here. My goal is to add some form of lattice on top of this structure and let grapevines climb over it.

My questions are these:
    • How sturdy does this structure have to be to allow grapevine to climb it? (I have no clue how heavy a grapevine becomes... I hope to get some grapes at least, so that'll add to the weight.)
    • What kind of material is appropriate to use as lattice? Some ideas are:
      - Sticks/wooden rods - too weak?
      - Wood (how thick does it have to be?) - too heavy if large boards are used?
      - Rebars (my colleague used this for his pergola) - too heavy? Will rust - not good for the plants?
      - Wires - risk putting pressure on the sides of the structure and collapsing it inwards if the grapevine becomes heavy?