1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Monstera advice

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by EarlNeonCog, Apr 24, 2019.

1. EarlNeonCog

EarlNeonCog Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +26
    I'm fairly new to the world of plant care, but I have a real urge to grow a Monstera.

I've heard they're fairly easy to care for and they seems really cool.

I'm not finding it particularly easy to find small Monstera (smallest I've seen so far was probably a medium size and well over 30 quid), so I was just wondering if anyone knew of a reliable place to get little Monstera, or, whether anyone could advise on how easy it is to grow them from seeds?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, as I said, I'm quite new to this, so even the obvious stuff isn't necessarily a given for me. I assume it'd take more effort and care from seed, but I kind of like the idea of growing from scratch, and I've found a place that appears to be selling seeds (Chiltern Seeds) relatively cheep, by which i mean, in comparison to for an already established Monstera.

Any advice would be great. Many thanks!

2. mazambo

mazambo Forever Learning

Ratings:
    +3,718
    Sorry, I don't know the ins and outs of monstera but I've bought seed from chiltern seeds on a number of occasions and never had any problems with them.

3. EarlNeonCog

Ratings:
    +26
    @mazambo

No need to apologise, that information is good to know either way to be honest.