Mountain Ash / Sorbus Aucuparia - replanting from pot to garden question.

Discussion in 'Trees' started by mcgon1979, Mar 12, 2014.

1. mcgon1979

mcgon1979 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi all,

I'm planning on getting this potted tree (Rowan / Mountain Ash / Sorbus Aucuparia) from a friend and replanting it in my own garden.
    I have a fine spot for it with excellent soil.

I'm just wondering should I consider pruning off the side branching and plant it with the main stem upright, or should I leave it as is with the Y split? Are there any advantages or disadvantages to either action? Anything else I should consider? Distance from wall? Aftercare etc? I'm a novice in this area and only recently acquired a garden.

Here are two photos. Any advice appreciated. Thanks.

2. mcgon1979

Ratings:
    +1
    Two images attached. Thanks 12345.jpg 123456.jpg

3. Sheal

Sheal Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +52,310
    Welcome to GC. :) With any new tree you have to consider it's overall height and root spread. In ten to twenty years time this particular tree could be between 15 and 20 metres high and the root spread considerable, it's crown spread could also take up a good part of your garden and take away light. That said, if I haven't already put you off, I would leave the lower branch attached for the time being as it may or may not produce more lower branches. If you remove it the tree will look top heavy.

• Agree Agree x 1
    • mcgon1979

Ratings:
      +1
      Hi Sheal. Many thanks for your reply. I've attached since other pictures to explain the background. By the way, your post certainly hasn't put me off. :)
      In the first picture you can see there was Eucalyptus tree. Unfortunately it became loose after a storm and I was easily able to move by pushing it. It was a hazard so had to be removed before it fell down in any fresh winds. I removed it myself and the accompanying root system.