1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Moved into new house with lilac tree

Discussion in 'Trees' started by gazdavtom, Jul 10, 2016.

1. gazdavtom

gazdavtom Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I am completely new to gardening and have just inherited a garden with the following tree (see pics), which I have been told is a lilac. As you can see it is situated close to the border of my property and has had what appears to be some fairly heavy pruning. My guess is this was done due to the fact that a car park is on the other side of the fence and it was somehow interferring with one of the neighbours parked cars. Can someone please advise on what is best to do with the tree, should I keep it, and can it be restored to something more akin to a natural looking tree?

Many thanks in advance.

image.jpeg image.jpeg

2. Redwing

Redwing Wild Gardener

Ratings:
    +2,830
    Keep it if you can; lilacs are beautiful trees. It also gives you some privacy. It is close to the fence; maybe you could cut down the trunk that is closest to the fence seen in the first picture. That's what I would try first. It would be a shame to get rid of it altogether.

• Agree Agree x 1
    • honeybunny

honeybunny Head Gardener

Ratings:
      +1,915