NEED HELP WITH SOME GARDEN RESEARCH!!

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by spaceclanger, May 26, 2005.

1. spaceclanger

spaceclanger Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

I'm a university student studying at Sheffield Hallam and need to
    complete some research on garden recycling. I'd really appreciate it
    if you could take the time to answer a few questions, even if they're
    only short answers, anything's good!

What kind of garden do you have? (eg - size, location etc)

What kind of things do you recycle in your garden?

Do you use things/objects for other purposes and if so what are they and for
    what purposes are they used?

Anyone got any stories about interesting and creative ways of re-using
    things??

Thanks!
    p.s any interesting pics or other information contact
    [email protected] or [email protected]

2. seedybee68

seedybee68 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Garden - suburban small garden in Berkshire (45ft long)

We have a 1metre high plastic compost bin (from garden centre) for recycling garden and household waste.

Allotment with wooden compost bin made from 3 reclaimed pallettes; taken apart and rebuilt..

3. revin helen

revin helen Gardener

Ratings:
    +36
    Garden is on the edge of a rural town in Somerset and is 17' by 24' enclosed by fwnces and a garage. On the other side of the garage is a hedge row which is being invaded by brambles. I have 2 compost bins which I put shredded brambles annual weeds garden clippings and veg. peelings. I've used coat hangers to stop my hanging baskets being thumped against the wall in windy weather and will have a hose reel made from and old Triumph stag wheel, (if my other half ever gets round to finishing it).
    I use a 5' crow bar to get bramble roots out as the soil is quite stony and have taken to using a small jemmy to plant into the hedgerow bank.