1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

New adventures to start

Discussion in 'Greenhouse Growing' started by Kris35, May 1, 2022.

1. Kris35

Kris35 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +4
    Hi all,

Im in the process gathering materials to build a greenhouse as a little project for myself. I have to say the aspect of growing anything is quiet overwhelming as I have no experience in this at all.

It's something I've always wanted but i was recently juggling the idea of getting an allotment until i realised...I dont know enough about the planting side of anything to warrant such space right now.

So to start small, I have a concrete yard and plan on building a 4 meter by 2.4m frame which will be ankered and then wrapped in small gauge cage wire before being wrapped in polythene sheeting. The roof will be a sloped roof instead of an apex...with an angle of roughly 28 degrees with the roof and side being exposed to the west. 1 side the Easter wont be exposed to sunshine on that side due to neighbour's buildings and fencing. I plan on have 2 vents...1 in the roof and 1 on the western side?