1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

New build lawn soil like clay.

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by Dietspam, May 3, 2012.

1. Dietspam

Dietspam Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi, I hope you can help me.

I'm a gardening novice and recently bought a new build house. The house had been built for about a year.At first, even though the weather was dry, the soil was un-walkable. It would just move under your feet. The lawn, as far as i know, was seeded and not turffed. I think they have mixed some of the grass types because some parts grow rapidly faster than others. There are no trees are obstructions to block sun light, but despite this, the lawn is covered in moss and dandelions.

Action i have taken so far: Sprinkled some lawn feed with moss and weed killer. I raked up the moss and pulled up the weeds. Some parts were so matted with moss that i was left with a patch of dirt and no grass. I've tried putting some grass seeds in, with no joy. The lawn looks like a disaster now and I'm wondering if i should rip it up and turf it.

Can anyone help?

DS

2. clueless1

clueless1 member... yep, that's what I am:)

Ratings:
    +19,595
    Hello and welcome to GC.

Here's my guess:

Clay soil is a nightmare. Some will say its brilliant because it holds moisture and nutrients. True, it holds them so tightly that only stronger tap rooted plants like dandelions can thrive in it.