New House, First Garden, Where to Start?

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by Nickee, Apr 7, 2020.

1. Nickee

Nickee Apprentice Gardener

Project Manager
    Ratings:
    +6
    We have just (2,5 weeks ago!) moved into a gorgeous house here in Scotland, which comes with a garden that makes all my dreams come through!

However, after having been on the internet for too many hours, I realise it's quite a struggle to find anything on 'how to continue/start in someone else's old garden' instead of a 'how to start from scratch'.

Therefore, I am hoping for some general instructions on where to start, or what you would do if you were us (a total beginner!). I am adding some photos to give you all a better idea:

Patch 1.jpg
    ^ We have two of these large vegetable patches. I know the previous owner used to plant lots and I remember seeing Brussels Sprouts here when we went to see the house late 2019.

Patch 1 Closeup.jpg
    ^ Here is a close-up.

Mini Patch.jpg
    ^ We also have an additional smaller patch which clearly needs some cleaning up, but I think the plant in the corner is rhubarb? (Probably the only one I could recognise cause of the pink ha ha).

Greenhouse.jpg
    ^ Then there's a greenhouse in which they've left their pots and planters. Most used to have tomatoes in them. The dirt feels bone dry in these.

So, really, we just don't know where to start to prep properly to be able to start our own vegetables etc if that makes sense. We are not sure whether to wait and see what comes up, etc?

Personally, the dream is to have a variety of vegetables and fruits for cooking and baking and sharing in the neighbourhood. Additionally I would love to have a corner of the garden for cut flowers (there is lots of grass patches available that aren't in the pictures), or sprinkle an area with wildflower seeds. We are conscious that the patches are large and we don't want to overwhelm ourselves either, so we may leave one bare, if that is an option?