1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

New Lawn

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by TomBem, Mar 27, 2020.

1. TomBem

TomBem Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

Im new to this after buying my first house, We had a small patch of grass surrounded by flower beds, we removed all the plants leveled out with top soil and laid new lawn over the top, it was great last summer

Now its all sunk and the grass has worn away to almost just mud, what have I done wrong? and can it be fixed by top soiling and new lawn on top again which will raise the level back up?

Any help is great thank you

Tom

2. Liz the pot

Liz the pot Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +1,259
    Hi Tom

Sounds like the soil was not quite compacted enough before laying the turf but don’t worry it just needs to be done again.
    Robot Check

This is a great book if you want to look after or learn the basics of turf care and if memory serves me right it does include turfing.
    You will need to remove the turf you laid and start fresh and level the soil and work at getting it compacted enough so that it does not sink but not too compacted that it effects the turf roots taking into account the finishing height of the turf. You will need more soil too.

3. TomBem

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,