1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

New member - and invasive plants

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by returnmack, Jul 19, 2007.

1. returnmack

returnmack Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there

I'm relatively new to gardening on a scale bigger than some pots and window boxes. I have a bigish garden (120ft long approx), with a heavy clay base that is either waterlogged or baked like a brick. It's north facing, but is sufficiently long that most of it is in full sun. I'm not far from typical Yorkshire moorland and so get quite a lot of cold winds, although we have high beech hedges to half the garden so that helps shelter some of it.

I'm struggling with some inherited plants that I want to get under control though - the previous occupants planted big section of carex pendula, crocosmia and loosestrife that are taking over the whole garden. Getting rid of them is awful - any top tips? Short of resorting to agent orange?
    Regards
    Returnmack

2. Blackthorn

Blackthorn Gardener

Ratings:
    +4
    Hi returnmack and welcome.