1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Newbie dealing with vines and clay!

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by beefpotnoodle, May 6, 2014.

1. beefpotnoodle

beefpotnoodle Gardener

Ratings:
    +65
    Hi all,
    I'm a newbie to this forum, and haven't really found many answers from the near hour of searching threads, so here goes...
    Background, I'm a lazy gardener, its not how I want to spend my time. My garden is massive so low maintenance is key.
    The two problems I have are;
    1) The garden was up to 30 years ago a very small flood plain for a very old stream. The stream has been diverted and channeled. But I have really bad drainage, on digging a retainer wall there appears to be a 1' deep clay layer about 1' under the ground. My lawn has extensive liverwort, oh and frogs! I want to improve drainage, and am willing to raise the ground level about 6" if required. Was going to lay a new lawn on top, maybe???
    2) My neighbours fence is hideous, its a concrete post/wooden panel job. But is bends and waves horizontally and vertically! I want to cover all 120' of it. I'm after a fast growing vine/bush that's evergreen, needs little pruning and limited to 2-3mtrs growth. It'll need to grow in the shade (on the near north side of the fence), and in boggy soil. If possible Id like a fruit bearing honey suckle, as I like to brew from the hedgerow!