Newbie Gardener from SW Cornwall

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Irene Woodhead, May 20, 2021.

1. Irene Woodhead

Irene Woodhead Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi, Glad to be here! I am a complete beginner and have started a very small veggie plot 3m square in my lawn, where so far I have peas, broad beans and spinach coming along nicely started from seed indoors back in March. Also planted stocks (slugs breakfast), and a few hanging basket flowers. Enjoying it so far with the help of Google and YouTube, but got one or two questions so joined this forum hoping to get answers . Thank you for having me.

• Like Like x 1
    • Nikolaos

Nikolaos Total Gardener

Ratings:
      +4,288
    • wiseowl

wiseowl FRIENDLY ADMIN Staff Member

Philosophy of people
      Ratings:
      +89,279
    • Irene Woodhead

Irene Woodhead Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
      +1
      I have a question - how can I help my French beans to thrive. First lot started from seed indoors failed when planted out in April. Diagnosed too cold, too early, not hardened off enough and did not feed. So next lot I fed the soil first with liquid feed and every two weeks after, put seed direct into soil but they are not really thriving. Next lot are just up and I must find out how to look after them to produce abundant cropping. Is there a French bean expert out there?

• Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
      +12,667
      10-out-of-10 for that diagnosis :)