1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Old greenhouse in need of replacement glass or other suitable medium

Discussion in 'Greenhouse Growing' started by Bonnyrigg Lea, Oct 21, 2006.

1. Bonnyrigg Lea

Bonnyrigg Lea Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Im completely new to gardening. Have an active one year old child and have moved to a house with an old greenhouse (several panes missing). As the existing glass seems fragile and unstable Im looking for a suitable safe replacement option rather than ditch the greenhouse as friends (non gardeners) have suggested. Please help! [email protected]

2. Paladin

Paladin Gardening...A work of Heart

Retired but still grubbing the soil.
    Ratings:
    +770
    Hi and Welcome B Lea..I would replace the glass with polycarbonate..A local glaziers should carry it and have it in standard sizes.
    And they will take your old glass off you if they are any good! [​IMG]

3. Mel

Mel Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    B&Q sell packs of polycarbonate to fit standard sized greenhouses

4. Bonnyrigg Lea

Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the replies, will check out the options and work on the one that is the most feasible.
    B Lea

5. luckyboo

luckyboo Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know anything about this as I don't own one but I've seen someone's which has bubble-wrap on the inside(insulation?). Might be a short-term measure on the windows while the panes are being replaced?