Patchy lawn needs thickening. How? I'm new to gardening :)

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by DenProject, Mar 29, 2012.

1. DenProject

DenProject Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all. We have two grassed gardens. Both have patches where no grass is growing albeit quite small patches. These areas are really compact with dirt. The rest of the grass has various other weed-looking things amongst it. Is there any way I could get the grass growing all over the lawns whilst tackling the non-grass cretins?

A bit more info: We moved to the house last year before the summer and the lawns were in a much worse state. The side one had severe undulations and the rear had a concrete path running all the way down it. The grass was a little more patchy in both. I removed the path, making sure to take out all the concrete and I did a good job. I removed some dirt from the high parts of the side garden and filled in the gap where the path was. Both lawns were now as level as I could get them.

Next, I layed down grass seed as per the instructions and the grass started growing well and was looking good but again in patches. This year has not seen an improvement in the density of the grass although it is growing on all the lawn so it looks miles better than when we first moved in.

Both gardens are, I reckon, half covered in shade for much of the day due to the fencing/hedges. However this hasn't really effected where the patchy bits are as they are equally spread in both lawns so I'm not too worried about that.

I think I've covered everything but feel free to ask any more questions. Ultimately I just want a nice, green dense lawn!!

Thanks guys!

2. Sheal

Sheal Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +52,311