1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Perlite / Vermiculite in a small flower bed?

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by LS15, Oct 7, 2020.

1. LS15

LS15 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I'm fairly new to gardening and have really got into it this year with the increased time I'm able to spend at home. Having taken inspiration from a recent gardeners world episode I've decided to build a cover for my bins and have a small flower bed for some plants above it about 6 inches deep. Unlike on the show however I want to try to grow some plants that need to be watered and enjoy the sun.

The place it will go gets sun a lot of the day the and current pots we have dry out very quickly, I have done some research and I wondered if it will need vermiculite or perlite adding to the compost to help it avoid drying out. However, living in South Wales it does also tend to rain a lot so I'm wondering if adding either of these would actually do more damage than good if it gets too wet and causes the roots to rot.

Can anyone give any tips on if adding these would be a good idea? or would I be better off just sticking to using just compost?

2. ARMANDII

ARMANDII Low Flying Administrator Staff Member

Ratings:
    +100,836
    Hi LS,
    Can I come from a different angle and ask what kind of plants you have in mind that you want to plant?