Poplars and firs.

Discussion in 'Trees' started by Heffalump, Jan 24, 2020.

1. Heffalump

Heffalump Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +13
    Hi! I'm new to both gardening and this forum. I joined to get some advice and help with our garden. We moved into our house about 18 months ago. The garden is mostly in lawn but the boarder of the garden is edged basically all around with mature trees. I think there's about 75 of them, mostly poplars and firs that we think we're planted around 60 yrs ago.

They aren't the prettiest of trees and my husband would very much like to take some of them away. I agree that there are better looking trees and these wouldn't have been the ones I'd have chosen to plant, but I don't want to take them away without replacing them with something else.

Are all trees equal when it comes to being good for the environment and wildlife friendly? Are poplars and firs particularly bad or good?

There are a few fruit trees and sycamore trees too, which are staying.

Thanks in advance for any help!

2. Heffalump

Ratings:
    +13
    This is the front/north boundary. There are 3 rows of trees, 2 rows of poplars closest to the road and then a row of firs closest to the garden.

The trees along the west side are just a single row of poplars.

Attached Files:

3. Heffalump

Ratings:
    +13
    You can kind of see the west side in this picture. I'll get better pictures tomorrow in the daylight.

Attached Files:

4. NigelJ

NigelJ Total Gardener

Mad Scientist
    Ratings:
    +20,939
    A couple of thoughts:
    Why were the tree planted in the first place?
    Are they covered by any form of preservation order or in a conservation area?
    I would however get rid of the sycamores, they grow like mad, seedlings come up all the over place and their regular aphid infestations drip honeydew on anything below them.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Heffalump

Ratings:
      +13