1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Pruning Autumn Fruiting Raspberries

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by BigBird, Dec 1, 2009.

1. BigBird

BigBird Gardener

Signaller
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello everyone!!:)

I am new to growing raspberries. I have 12 'Joan J' raspberry canes which are the autumn fruiting variety. I know that I have to prune them down to the soil, but when? Some say now, others say February.

Any suggestions please? :cnfs:

2. cauliflower ears

cauliflower ears Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I always do mine in Feb/March, seems to work for me

3. BigBird

BigBird Gardener

Signaller
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello cauliflower ears!!:)

Thank you for your reply. I must admit I have done loads of research & asked lots of gardeners, & they all recommend Feb as the best time.

Thanks again!! :D

4. suziequeue

suziequeue Guest

Ratings:
    +0
    Is pruning the same as cutting them short after they have fruited?

I have to say - I am completely confused about raspberries. We bought a house this summer which had both summer and autumn varieties. We had a bumper crop this summer and autumn. The autumn ones were particularly good.

Now what do I do with them?

All the books I read start with "first buy a load of raspberry canes"....... but I already have them in the ground.