1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Rabbit/deer proof pots for my sons grave help please.

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by For-my-Angel, Mar 9, 2010.

1. For-my-Angel

For-my-Angel Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

I am a complete novice, before now ive only grown cress :) but I want my sons grave to look beautiful and have no idea where to begin.

My son died in december so am new to all this and the cemetary has rabbits and occasional deer so have them to consider as cut flowers get eaten immediatly. (currently have daffodils but worry what i will use when they stop becoming available).

We are only allowed potted plants but have the grave space beside him for when our time comes so have quite a bit of space.

He is in partial shade.

any replies appreciated

2. JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
    +46,155
    Hello & welcome to GC, and let me say what a sad subject this is, I do hope you can find something for your little one's grave. There really isn't much you can use that is Deer proof, they will eat anything as far as I know. Rabbits are another problem, we currently put polyanths/primulas in pots at my Mum's memorial as these are in season right now, the rabbits seem to leave them alone. I respectfully suggest you rotate your pots, take whatever is in season for some nice colour and bring away the pots that have faded.

3. theplantman

theplantman Gardener