1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Repotting large rose

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by Aimi, Jun 19, 2020.

1. Aimi

Aimi Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all!

Just joined this forum and I am very new to gardening so bare with me

I inherited a rose (floribunda I think) from my late dad. It is in a large pot. To be honest, it's been pretty neglected the past 2 years as I had no idea what to do with it. However, I'm adamant to try and save it.

I cut it right back as instructed online and it has some new shoots growing from it so it seems as if it's still alive.

My question is, I want to transfer it in to a different large pot. Any tips on how I go about this?

Thanks in advance.

2. Arlandria

Arlandria Gardener

Parent/Carer
    Ratings:
    +284
    Roses don't need to be repotted very often. It's very obvious when they do because they stop flowering and growing. If they're still doing that, they're okay where they are.

You'll need some large leather gloves to protect your hands and forearms from the thorns.

Don't put it in a huge pot - the new pot should be a few inches bigger in diameter, no more.

1. Make sure the new pot is clean and dry.
    2. Half fill the new pot with soil. You can put a little manure at the bottom if you have some. Use a compost specifically for roses for the remainder.