1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Shady Climbers: Specific location

Discussion in 'Gardening Discussions' started by Matt Stone, May 6, 2015.

1. Matt Stone

Matt Stone Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +8
    Hi Folks, hoping you can help out.

I'm new to gardening, but know enough to be dangerous with CAD design!
    I've started where I know, and created a model of what I'd like to achieve in the garden.

In a particularly overlooked spot in the garden i'd like to grow a climber on a 2.0m trellis, with the (perhaps misplaced) hope that ultimate foliage growth should provide a ~2.5m privacy screen.

Challenge is that this is on the North fence, and our three-storey townhouses reduce evening sunlight.

I had hoped to grow Clematis Armandii (Apple Blossom) in this spot. I've modelled sun positioning to get a rough idea of how much light the area gets over the day - see the photos.

Two questions - first, do you think Armandii would struggle in these conditions?
    Secondly, can you think of a more suitable "fast growing evergreen climber" (preferably with flowers)?

10am - Morning
    10.00 - morning.jpg
    1pm - Midday
    13.00 - midday.jpg
    4pm - Late Afternoon
    16.00 - late afternoon.jpg
    7pm - Evening
    19.00 - evening.jpg
    9pm - Late Evening
    21.00 - late evening.jpg