1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Small Garden Project

Discussion in 'Garden Projects and DIY' started by 2nd_bassoon, Jan 10, 2017.

1. 2nd_bassoon

2nd_bassoon Super Gardener

Vet
    Ratings:
    +1,840
    Hello all,

Newbie here! My partner and I moved in together just before Christmas and in the move I've gained a nice-sized little garden. It's been very, very neglected, however; I don't think the previous tenants touched it. So it's a bit of a project :D We're renting, but the landlady is lovely and happy for me to do pretty much anything short of major building work - the downside is that, while I hope to stay a few years, there's no
    guarantee. My last place was a cottage with a little patio garden so I mostly concentrated on pots; this is something new!

The basic layout is patio against the house with an elevated "lawn" area beyond. There's a tiny pond on one side of the steps up to the grass and a little shaded paved area on the other side. The lawn is bordered on three sides by beds - the whole plot isn't quite square, much narrower at the top than the bottom.

Blurry pictures to illustrate:

Top of patio steps, looking left (the cream wall is the edge of the house)
    2017-01-10 12.56.06.jpg

Top corner
    2017-01-10 12.56.13.jpg

Looking up the garden from the patio steps
    2017-01-10 12.56.22.jpg

The "pond" (my puddle!)
    2017-01-10 12.56.38.jpg