1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Some greenhouse questions

Discussion in 'Greenhouse Growing' started by LettuceG, Jun 6, 2020.

1. LettuceG

LettuceG Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all, newbie here. I’m thinking of buying a greenhouse but have a few questions/concerns. My garden is south facing and gets lots of sun but is high up so gets lots of wind. The only area I can put a greenhouse is on decking at back of garden. This decking is built on a graduated frame about 14ft high at highest point (garden had a steep slope so this levelled it up) My husband thinks moisture and humidity from greenhouse would get into the deck frame and rot it, is this likely to happen? Also a neighbour had a polycarbonate greenhouse at one point and the noise it made in wind was deafening. It lasted less than a year before wind destroyed it so I was thinking of a toughened glass one. Are all polycarbonate greenhouses noisy in wind even the ones designed to be sturdier against wind? Are glass greenhouses more likely to withstand wind? Any advice welcomed.

Last edited: Jun 6, 2020
  2. JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
    +46,045
    Welcome to the forum @LettuceG