Some help needed identifying plants in my new garden

Discussion in 'Identification Area' started by Novice_Maximus, Oct 17, 2011.

1. Novice_Maximus

Novice_Maximus Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Everyone,

As my user name suggests i am a complete novice when it comes to gardening and having just moved into our new house which has a good size garden with lots of plants im really struggling to identify them.

I have tried the plant identifier tool on the botanical keys website however i had no luck.. Although i do conced that is probably more down to my lack of knowledge, lol.

I do want to start to read up and learn about my plants, what positions they like, how to propagate, etc however in order to do that i think im probably going to need to know there names first and so if anyone can help i would be most grateful.

I did take a lot of pictures however i have only listed a few on here as i really didnt want to overload my first proper post on here.

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

1 - This little beauty seems to be mainly growing out of and around our stone walls.

[​IMG]

2 - I love this plant, i think the leaves are fascinating

[​IMG]

3 - Again, i have no idea what this is but i suspect that it may be quite obvious and i will end up feeling a bit silly.

[​IMG]

4 - This one also fascinates me and is quite a reasonable size (about 3ft high)

[​IMG]

5 - This one seems to have spread all around the borders and bare ground, its only a few inches high.

[​IMG]

6 - My Bamboo which is quickly becoming my favourite... Ive been trying to read up on bamboo however i cant seem to identify the species. I have included of the bamboo as i have read it can be quite hard to differentiate.

[​IMG]

Close up of the same clump of bamboo

[​IMG]

Smaller bamboo plants that have spread from the main clump.

[​IMG]

Thanks in advance for any assistance that anyone can offer.

2. Aesculus

Aesculus Bureaucrat 34 (Admin)

Cashier
    Ratings: