1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Strawberry towers

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by revnev, May 6, 2005.

1. revnev

revnev Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi - I'm a newbie here.

My mum gave me one of those terracotta strawberry towers which I have dutifully filled with strawberry plants.

Some of the new strawberry towers on sale in magazines include things like a "central watering tube" to make watering easy.

Mine obviously hasn't got one of these snazzy devices! Has anyone got any tips for making sure it gets watered right to the bottom. I was thinking of maybe some kind of punctured hose arrangement - but I'd welcome some advice on specifics!

many thanks in advance,

Phil

2. revin helen

revin helen Gardener

Ratings:
    +36
    If you've already planted it up then it's a bit late unless you want to start again but any kind of drinks bottle, stabbed a few times around the sides and planted upsidedown with the bottom cut off, in the midle of the pot will do to get the water all the way down the tower.

3. revnev

Ratings:
    +0
    Good idea! I think I might re-do it, I'll need a fairly slender drinks bottle - it isn't massively wide - and I've got plants in the top too...

thanks,

Phil