1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Suggestions for low cost perennials and edibles?

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Reetgood, Jul 11, 2012.

1. Reetgood

Reetgood Gardener

Ratings:
    +111
    I rent a back to back with a tiny front garden. I can't do much landscaping wise, so my idea was to basically fill the bare borders. I'm a beginner at all this.

It wasn't in too bad a shape when I moved in, although the borders were pretty empty. But what with this summer, slugs and next door's children my plans to take up two sides of the borders with edibles grown from seed have all gone awry. Anything planted in the ground that's young pretty much gets eaten. So I'm thinking I need to put in slightly older plants to give them a chance.

The aim is cottagey packed borders with room for some edibles in too. I like herbs, I cook and I'm interested in plants that are difficult to buy, like sorrel or decent lettuce (still trying with the sorrel and endive seedlings).

Colour wise I'm trying to go for blue, white, silver, mauve. But i just put in rose campion which has lovely pops of bright pink so I'm happy to go a bit off plan.

The soil is that northern toward clay but decent.