Tall Grasses / Tropical Planting- Total Newbie !

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by killemall, Oct 4, 2016.

1. killemall

killemall Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello there, my garden does not have a lot of space for planting ( sorry ! ) my main interests are my cars and workshop. However i am planning to have a few pots around the place and do have a couple of small beds. I have as small space near to my decking and workshop in which i would like to create a screen for the deck.

I already have some cherry laurel at the back of the garden which i like, but wanted to use something different here.

I like tropical looking planting and Grasses, i really like bamboo , but have been scared away from using bamboo as i didnt want to get into using Rhyzome barriers and taking any risk that it could get under the workshop or deck. I was looking at Miscanthus and then maybe some smaller shrubs at the front. However when i started reading about Miscanthus again there was talk of it running wild and problems with the Rhyzomes.

Any suggestions / Advice ? Ideally i want 6-8ft of cover and low maintenance.

Obviously i know the bed isnt ready for planting yet ! still got lots of gravel & hardcore to remove and top soil to add.

Many Thanks

IMG_20161003_135543.jpg

2. shiney

shiney President, Grumpy Old Men's Club Staff Member

Retired - Last Century!!!
    Ratings:
    +117,297
    Miscanthus is, generally, not difficult to control but a lot of them are deciduous.

This is typical of deciduous varieties and it's easy to keep under control as all we need to do is remove part of it if it starts spreading to much. Unlike most bamboos it doesn't spread by runners but just by creeping sideways.

It needs cutting down each winter and grows this height each year. These clumps are three years old.

P1300459.JPG

P1300458.JPG

• Like Like x 1
    • killemall

Ratings:
      +0