topsoil over new lawn? help!

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by Clueless but keen!, Jun 1, 2013.

1. Clueless but keen!

Clueless but keen! Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,​
    I have laid grass seed and it has started to grow. (about 2" tall and very thin) ​
    However the soil underneath is very lumpy and bumpy so can i sprinkle topsoil over the top and rake it level?...Would the existing new grass grow through it?...Or would that kill the grass which has already grown?​
    I still have some grass seed leftover if needed?​
    Would appreciate any help.​
    Many thanks in advance.​

2. Fat Controller

Fat Controller 'Cuddly' Scottish Admin! Staff Member

Public Transport
    At me 'puter, GCHQ Ashford Office, Middlesex
    Ratings:
    +48,857
    Welcome to GC :sign0016:

I am a bit of a newbie at this myself, so can't offer any advice, but rest assured that one of the resident experts will be along shortly to help :)

Meantime, have a wander around the forums, and hopefully you'll get to meet all the regulars - - very friendly bunch, if a bit on the nutty side (we don't get let out very often!) :biggrin:

• Like Like x 1
    • JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
      +45,632
      Hello and welcome to the forum :)

You will probably do more harm than good by spreading topsoil over emerging grass seedlings. How big are these lumps and bump? A photo would help us :dbgrtmb:

• Agree Agree x 1
      • clueless1

clueless1 member... yep, that's what I am:)

Ratings:
        +19,594
        Hello and welcome.

Don't sprinkle topsoil on and then rake it. That will just blitz your new grass.

I'd just live with it for the time being. Once the new grass is a bit stronger you'll be top dressing anyway, and by then the ground will have settled further so the more permanent lumps and bumps will be known by then so you'll have a better idea what you're dealing with.