Total novice needs advice

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Andrew McRombie, Jul 5, 2015.

1. Andrew McRombie

Andrew McRombie Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +5
    Hi guys,

I was on a good while back asking about a plant related question and received some very helpful advice. Now I'm looking for help with the grass (or lack of it) in my gardens.

11667142_10204872549437019_862375388_n - Copy.jpg

Basically what I see I lots and lots of bare patches and weeds. The grass that is there is brown. Really have no idea where to go from here, so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Attached Files:

2. Sheal

Sheal Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +52,311
    Which area do you live in please Andrew?

3. Andrew McRombie

Ratings:
    +5
    Hi Sheal,

I live in the Glasgow area of the UK.

4. Guesty

Guesty Gardener

Ratings:
    +191
    You got a closer up pic? How long has the lawn been there and what maintenance do you do on it?

5. Sheal

Sheal Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +52,311
    I thought you may be in southern England, looking at the brown lawn. How long has it been like that? If you haven't had any rain recently it could be that it needs regular watering to recover. If that's not the case then it's probably dead, even though grass is quite resilient having suffered drought.

6. Andrew McRombie

Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks for replies guys. It's been like that for over a year. Would feed and weed or something like that help? If it's dead, can I plant some grass seed or is it to do with the actual soil?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

DSCF3231.JPG

7. wiseowl

wiseowl FRIENDLY ADMIN Staff Member

Philosophy of people
    Ratings:
    +89,279
  8. Andrew McRombie

Ratings:
    +5
  9. merleworld

merleworld Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +4,087