Urgent help please! Veg patch gone wrong!

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by HumaadGardening, Sep 4, 2014.

1. HumaadGardening

HumaadGardening Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +12
    This is the first year that I have ever done some serious gardening, and I am quite new to it. However, one of my first ideas was to plant a veg patch, in which I put a few tomato plants(maybe 4 or 5) and a courgette plant, along with two pepper plants. At the time it was fantastic, and up until now it had all been going great. About a month ago all the plants went through a big growth spurt, and it was ok then, and I was very happy because I expected lots of good veg! But as time went on I started to realise it was all going wrong, because the tomato and courgette plants were expanding rapidly. The courgette plant was ok because it trails along the floor, so it doesn't stop any other plants, but the tomatoes are out of control. They have completely dwarfed the peppers and have grown way way beyond what I estimated. I went out today and I was almost horrified, because I saw that my tomatoes were getting ruined. I looked closer and saw underneath all the foliage, one of the plants looked almost dead. I'm not sure what disease it has, but the stems have purple patches and the fruits are getting ruined. The leaves are also quite withered:frown:. I was quite upset at this, and I've realised that my plants are too crowded. I cannot take them out or move them because they are too established now, I don't want to get rid of them either. I've worked really hard on these plants and I really don't want them to be ruined. Any help or solutions would be really appreciated.

2. Phil A

Phil A Guest

Ratings:
    +0
    Welcome to Gardeners Corner :sign0016:

Sounds like you've got Blight i'm afraid :sad:

You could try spraying with Bordeaux Mixture, but it will only slow it down now, not get rid of it.