1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Watering and feeding after late autumn planting

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Star Jasmine, Nov 12, 2013.

1. Star Jasmine

Star Jasmine Gardener

Ratings:
    +62
    I'm a total newbie gardener with a "clean slate" garden, into which I planted a lot of new perennials in October and November.

I've planted what I could get hold of availability-wise at this time of the year - my basic understanding and common sense suggests to me that the plants wouldn't be sold if they weren't suitable for late autumn planting! However I am unsure how to care for these new plants over the winter.

I have just planted the following:

Winter flowering jasmine
    Star jasmine
    Sorbus Autumn Spire tree
    Buddleja Davidii
    Rosemary
    Lavender
    Choisya Sundance
    Heuchera
    Astilbe
    Phlox

I'm reading conflicting advice about whether these plants should be fed after planting or not. Some places say always feed the soil just before or after planting but others say don't feed in autumn.

I'm also unsure how often to water the plants over winter and how much to water them? I don't want to overdo it but equally I don't want them to dry out. Though at the moment we have a fair bit of rain so it's not a worry yet.

Sorry that I sound completely clueless. That's because I am!

2. JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
    +46,020