Waterlogged new garden. Keen to make it a wildlife garden with pond.

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by sniffy, Dec 24, 2013.

1. sniffy

sniffy Gardener

Ratings:
    +43
    Hi. This is my first post.

I've just moved into a new house. The back garden is about 60 feet long by 30 feet. I am taking a wild guess here. It seems like a very big space given I've never had a garden before. There is a slight slope from left to right and there is a fairly large patch in the middle that is water logged.

I would like to turn the garden into a space for wildlife, with a pond and plenty of plants to attract insects and birds. We've been here for less than 2 weeks and so far we seem to have a wide variety of birds, from tits to buzzards, and frequent visits from foxes. We are next to woodland and farmland. Very rural location. I have spent my life in city centre living so I am very new to this.

I'd like to know how to find out how best to deal with the soggy lawn and whether this would be a good place for the pond. It seems to be clay underneath the grass, which is freshly seeded and doesn't have much root yet. I don't want to dig a pond and displace the sogginess to the rest of the garden, but if it's a good idea to make use of the wet, then the pond can go there.

I'd be glad of any suggestions or ideas for where to look. I'm coming up blanks even though there's probably something here if I knew how to find it?

Thanks. :)

2. Spruce

Spruce Glad to be back .....

Ratings:
    +12,318
    Hi Sniffy

Welcome on Christmas Eve ...

Couple of questions .. how old is the house ?? and where roughly are you in the UK ie Devon etc

Spruce

3. sniffy

sniffy Gardener

Ratings:
    +43
    Thank you. Happy Christmas to you.

We're in Cheshire. The house was built in the 1940s.

4. Jenny namaste

Jenny namaste Total Gardener

retired- blissfully retired......
    Ratings:
    +31,024