1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Where to begin with an edible garden?

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by Luido, Feb 15, 2010.

1. Luido

Luido Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Everyone,

I confess straight off that I'm new to gardening. I've enjoyed gardens for many years but never got round to getting my fingers dirty. Until now!

I've got a little boy and want him to enjoy home grown fruit/veg so I'd like to start with some basic food plants - but which ones are an easy way in to this?

My garden is sheltered from the wind, but doesn't have the greatest sunlight.

I also don't have the thickest soil so maybe will need pots/grow bags to start off with.

I live in the East Midlands, UK.

So, what edible plants would you recommend I start with?

Many thanks,
    Luido

2. NatalieB

NatalieB Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Luido and welcome to GC!

If you are looking for things specifically for your son, try things like little chardonnay carrots, radish, baby lettuce leaves, a cherry tomatoe, and most definitely mangetout! I always had these for the little ones when they were little, and to this day, they will eat their vege - and enjoy just eating off of the plant. Very little of the above ever makes it inside the house, as the kids will eat it outside. Strawberries and blueberries as well!