Where to buy succulent plugs ?

Discussion in 'Cacti and Succulents' started by Monty33, Jul 24, 2014.

1. Monty33

Monty33 Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    I would really like to recreate this succulent art but I need to get a wide range of different types without spending a fortune on mature plants.
    succulent.jpg

Does anyone have any recommendations of a company which sells a variety of plugs ?

2. longk

longk Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +23,089
    Have you got a larger picture? It's a job to make out what is in there. At a guess from what I can make out there is Opuntia (pretty slow growing), Echeveria (slow to very fast growing depending on species), Crassula (I have no experience), various Aloe (again, slow to fast depending), what looks like Mammilaria and several others that I can't identify. My point is that they have different growth habits, so some you could use plugs for but others will need to be mature plants.
    If you look on Ebay.com (the .com bit is important) there is a company in Germany that I found once who may be your best bet. Sadly I didn't save them.

3. Monty33

Monty33 Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    The picture is only to aid my description, doesn't have to exactly replicate this one.

I certainly was planning to use echeveria, sempervivens, sedum and aloe.

I have found numerous american sites selling collections like the one below but as of yet I'm struggling to find a UK equivalent.
    Succulent.jpg

4. longk

longk Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +23,089
    Do you intend to grow this indoors, outdoors or in a greenhouse?

5. Monty33

Monty33 Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    The plan was outdoors hanging on a sunny fence side??

This is another bigger picture of a similar idea.
    Succulent.jpg

6. longk

longk Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +23,089
  7. Monty33

Monty33 Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    South of England, why ?

8. longk

longk Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +23,089