Why do I still have so many tomato flowers?

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by Freedom_Spark, Jul 21, 2009.

1. Freedom_Spark

Freedom_Spark Gardener

Ratings:
    +26
    Hi everyone, it's my first year with a greenhouse & I planted far too many tomatoes:dh: A few plants with larger tomatoes has every truss full of fruit however, I have baskests of cherry tomatoes, moneymakers & hundreds & thousands which still have most of their flowers, tomatoes are appearing here & there but overall it's a mass of yellow flowers. I tap the plants regularly to try & help with polination & spray them with a mist of water. It said on the hundreds and thousands seed packet that no pinching out was required but I'm worried that they are still putting energy into growing & not starting on the fruit, I heard that the actual growing season is short (I'm a complete beginner) So I'm worried the fruit isn't going to appear soon enough to ripen properly, any advice?

Here's a picture of one of my 'hundreds and thousands' plants [​IMG]

2. Will Ting

Will Ting Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Flowers looks normal to me FS. :gnthb: but I've never seen tomato plants growing in a basket before!

3. Freedom_Spark

Freedom_Spark Gardener

Ratings:
    +26
  4. JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
    +45,653
    They have lots of flowers which is good, but the stems look weak and leggy, not at all like the image on the suttons website, which is a mass of cascading leaves & fruit. You should not have fed them till now, maybe that has caused them to grow like that.

I'm sure I can see some tiny tomatoes forming at the back on the first truss, so you now need to start feeding with a tomato food high in Potash.

5. Freedom_Spark

Freedom_Spark Gardener

Ratings:
    +26
    yeah, you're right I think I fed them too early. I'm feeding with tomorite every week now, however, the suttons website is I feel a gross exaggeration of what to expect :) That's my excuse any way!