1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Will it be safe to eat?

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by Cherub, Nov 6, 2005.

1. Cherub

Cherub Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,
    I am completely new to this. I have a small garden in the middle of London, in a housing estate that was build on land-fill when the docks were decommissioned about 20 years ago.
    I want to grow some of my own food (spuds, onions, leeks, carrots, possibly rasberries) but I am worried about the possibility of heavy metal contaminants in the soil.

I've has a little look on the internet, and on this forum, but I can't see any obvious way to get my soil tested for potentially harmful compounds.

Does anyone know how I might do this?

I know one option would be to use grow bags/ raised beds but I would prefer not to.

Thanks in advance

2. Liz

Liz Gardener

Ratings:
    +65
    Hi Cherub,
    I am gutted because I watched a TV program recently about this problem, and they interviewed a producer of home testing kits for contaminants- but I can't trace it! I hope someone else will help... not much to grow outside until spring, so there's time. Good Luck!

3. jjordie

jjordie ex-mod

Ratings:
    +206
    Know what you mean Liz and Cherub, it would be helpful and re-assuring if there was a test-kit available.