yorkshire veg growers?

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by ellwilll, Apr 21, 2012.

1. ellwilll

ellwilll Gardener

Ratings:
    +11
    i think its just me bieng a newbie and not knowing how to grow anything, but hardly any of my veg seeds germinate in the clay soil outisde, and ones raised inside and hardened off quickly die...
    what stage are people from yorkshire (or further north) at with their veg plots? any hints or tips for how you deal with clay?

2. clueless1

clueless1 member... yep, that's what I am:)

Ratings:
    +19,594
    Most of my area is on clay. Most people have no problem growing veg (although I'm fairly new to it).

I remember when I was little and my dad was about as far on the learning curve as I am now, and he had a few disasters. Nowadays he's got it down to a fine art. The best piece of advice he keeps giving me (and I keep ignoring at my peril) is to add a month onto the earliest recommended sowing time, so if the seed packet says sow in March, then best sow in April.

Apart from that, its not just about spring being a few weeks late up north, there's loads of factors. Is your clay soil excessively compacted? Is it in the shade/full sun? Is it exposed to the wind? Is it prone to waterlogging or drying out? Has it been fed? When was the last time some compost/manure was added?

Loads of factors to consider.

3. Jack McHammocklashing

Jack McHammocklashing Sludgemariner

Ex Civil Serpent
    Ratings:
    +7,278
    True gardeners will be along during the evening/weeked to give you full advice
    Meanwhile as a beginner too I will advise what I think

You need to work the soil digging in plenty of organic material, and compost to get a finer tilth, with free drainage
    Secondly, always plant seeds at least two weeks later than it says on the packet or gardeners in the South (up here it is four weeks behind, too cold and wet)

Welcome to GC
    Your friends on GC will post when they get here to help you

Jack McHammocklashing