You can never have too many secateurs or trowels

Discussion in 'Tools And Equipment' started by Tiarella, May 6, 2007.

1. Tiarella

Tiarella Optimistic Gardener

Ratings:
    +120
    Well I've currently got 5 pairs of secateurs, plus long-handled loppers (invaluable) and a ratchetty heavy-duty pair of secateurs for those stubborn branches. They tend to go blunt and I'm not good at sharpening them. You can spend all sorts of money on them, so I get cheapy ones that get chucked out when they go too blunt.

Trowels - I'm forever losing them! So I have about three at the moment. But I could use more. One in the shed, one in the greenhouse, one indoors, one handily situated for each flower bed.

How about you?

2. UsedtobeDendy

UsedtobeDendy Gardener

Retired teacher and gardener
    Ratings:
    +172
    It's hand forks with me - I often leave them behind! Secateurs go in my back right trouser pocket, so I fairly often have to get new work trousers, when they've caused a massive hole, and have done the same to the fall-back pocket! (And yes, I do know it's no the safest place, but I only have them there when I'm working on weeding a border, and have to hoick them out from time to time - I wouldn't do it if there was any chance of me falling over backwards and having them damage kidneys :eek: )

I keep a pair of secateurs in the bathroom too. I'm sure it's obvious why [​IMG] :D

3. shiney

shiney President, Grumpy Old Men's Club Staff Member

Retired - Last Century!!!
    Ratings:
    +117,311
    For cutting your toenails, of course [​IMG] :D :D :D

4. roders

roders Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +6,925
    [​IMG] The bane of my life WAS green secateurs....always loosing them.......now I always try to buy bright colours,my favourites at the moment are white.

Still loose them but not so often :D

5. windy miller

windy miller Gardener

Ratings:
    +0