Young Eucalyptus Worry

Discussion in 'Trees' started by BrianA, Jun 27, 2021.

1. BrianA

BrianA Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I am a newbie to gardening in general, busy creating a wee oasis in a concrete and roughcast jungle of back gardens. I planted a eucalyptus sapling (from an established grower) last year as a feature. It took well, reaching about 1.5 metres, and is continuing this year. However I see a few individual red leaves with brown spots at various heights, and a distinct group right at the base. I don't think its the wind (coming over my 1.8 metre high boundary fencing), as there are just as many red leaves in the lowest branches, but we did have an unexpected very cold snap in the spring. Is this something to worry about?

2692FBBB-6144-4375-A361-0AB09EF9632C.jpeg FB332F3B-D04B-4D74-85F8-5293E0C15744.jpeg

2. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
    Ratings:
    +84,302
    Its normal, the lower branches will probably die out anyway.
    Further up it is just shedding some of the older leaves.

The foliage shape will change at the top of the tree fairly soon.

Eucalyptus go through a juvenile stage with the kind of foliage in your pictures, but as they get older the leaf shape changes to a longer narrow leaf, depending on species.

You can maintain the young foliage by cutting it fairly hard back in early spring, keeping it as a shrub rather, than a tree.

3. hailbopp

hailbopp Gardener

Ratings:
    +650