1. Photo Competition
    MAY'S PHOTO COMPETITION IS OPEN!

    The theme this month is "Made it through the winter" so get your best falsetto voices ready and show us what has been Stayin' Alive

    Please Click Here!

Community website review request

Discussion in 'Members Blogs/Websites' started by Loofah, Nov 6, 2013.

  1. Loofah

    Loofah Well used member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    8,066
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Guildford
    Ratings:
    +12,991
    Fonts changed to Sintony, a google web font and very similar to arial. I also made a few other tweaks and for the time being turned off that bloody caching plugin.

    I didn't make any other changes but for some reason, the webpage doesn't work properly in mobile / tablet browsers here now so could someone check that the page looks broken to them too please?
     
  2. HsuH

    HsuH Super Gardener

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    645
    Location:
    South Gloucestershire
    Ratings:
    +3,257
    Looks like this on both Dolphin and Safari browsers on an ipad

    image.jpg

    Even in landscape the final tab in the horizontal navigation wraps round on to a new line.

    image.jpg

    Is that what you meant by "looks broken"?
     
  3. Loofah

    Loofah Well used member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    8,066
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Guildford
    Ratings:
    +12,991
    That's exactly what I mean and I have no idea what has caused it as I wasn't mucking about with any of the settings affecting those sections.
    Bum.
     
  4. Loofah

    Loofah Well used member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    8,066
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Guildford
    Ratings:
    +12,991
    After some severe back ache sitting in the office chair, I've found what was causing the issue - Google font API. Don't know the exact cause but altering the font approach (ie not using google fonts!) solved the layout issue.
     
  5. Loofah

    Loofah Well used member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    8,066
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Guildford
    Ratings:
    +12,991
    ... It was also some caching on the server side! Looked this morning and hey presto, some changes I made that <should> have worked yesterday are miraculously in place. Hurray.

    Also gone are the additional arrows on the main slider but I'm still testing out fonts

    If you look at the site and it appears unchanged, click on a page you haven't visited before and it should pop up (don't ask me, it's a server thing!)
     
  6. shiney

    shiney President, Grumpy Old Men's Club Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    54,095
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired - Last Century!!!
    Location:
    Herts/Essex border. Zone 8b
    Ratings:
    +100,696
    Shouldn't a 'refresh' sort that out?
     
  7. Loofah

    Loofah Well used member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    8,066
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Guildford
    Ratings:
    +12,991
    A refresh only refreshes the browser cache Shiney, not the hosting server. It seems that certain file types that normally remain static and unchanged are cached by the server and refreshed every [insert time here!]. It's annoying but I could ask them to turn it off although at this point I'm almost done.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice