Cosmos advice requested

Discussion in 'Gardening Discussions' started by REMF33, Apr 17, 2024.

1. REMF33

REMF33 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +11
    Hello
    I have been growing cosmos from seed for four years now, and I still can't crack the etiolation problem. I start them off in a heated propagator then take them out as soon as they germinate. I then put them in the coolest part of the house (unheated, glass-roofed covered area down the side) under grow lights. But they still shoot up and become etiolated and sometimes just flop over.
    Can anyone suggest anything? What sort of temperature is a good one post germination? Maybe not germinate in a propogator (but that ought to work, surely?) They are being removed from it literally within an hour of germination sometimes.
    On the plus side, things do usually turn out ok in the end, but I'd like to get it right, rather than have to take remedial action.

2. Garrett

Garrett Super Gardener

Ratings:
    +817
    I grow mine hard. Once they germinate, they're put outside in a sheltered spot during the day, as long as it isn't too windy, then brought back indoors each evening. They don't need any extra warmth once they've germinated and it's best to get them used to outside conditions early on, so grow 'em tough!

I know it's a leap of faith to do this, but try putting at least some of them outside during the day and see how they do for you.

• Like Like x 3
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • infradig

infradig Gardener

Freelance self preservationist
      Ratings:
      +906
      If they've grown too tall, rather than just pinch them out, cut them back(ie be-head them ) by a third.
      It may be that they are growing up for light, assuming you have planted them in individual pots (5"), space them out by a pots width at first and more as they grow bigger.
      Perhaps you start them too early, its so tempting ! Sowing now will see them flower in July-August.