Macro Photography - The advantages of focus stacking

Discussion in 'Photography Talk' started by Ademission, May 14, 2021.

1. Ademission

Ademission Gardener

Electronics Engineer
    Ratings:
    +618
    Hello all, I'm a newbie here so please be gentle.

I thought I might explain the concept of focus stacking and show some of my examples.

Taking good photos of small objects is difficult. An example would be small flowers. For years I used a macro lens but always suffered with the lack of depth of field. I could focus on the back (or front) of the flower but even with small apertures and a tripod I could not get the whole flower in focus. Now, flowers don't move a lot if you are careful (unlike live insects) which gives another avenue to exploit.

Focus Stacking allows a photographer to take a sequence of pictures with each picture having a slightly different focal point. The sequence might be any length depending on the severity of the focusing problem. Typically for small flowers, it can be 4 to 40 and sometimes a few more. To get the whole flower in focus, the sequence should start with focus at the flowers nearest point (or the furthest point) and proceed taking shots in the direction of the furthest point (or the nearest point). The focus step should be less than the depth of field. Alternatively, the camera can be moved forward (or backwards) by small increments usually on a slide.

Ok, now we have a sequence of pictures which is often referred to as a stack. we now need software to pick out the correctly focussed bits and piece them together to make the finished photograph. Anything that was not in the range of focus will stay blurred.

Specific software is available for performing this procedure. I use Helicon Focus and Helicon remote. I think Helicon is specifically aimed at Canon and Nikon cameras (correct me if I'm wrong). Photoshop can also be used and there are many tutorials on YouTube showing how to do this.