1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

New Vegetable Patch in Progress

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by Nikos Koukos, Mar 30, 2020.

1. Nikos Koukos

Nikos Koukos Gardener

Ratings:
    +12
    Hi All

Hoping someone out there may be able to give me some useful advice. Today I started digging my first bed with the intent of starting to grow some vegetables.

I have no experience in this so want to take it steady. The soil was very stony so I intend to dig deep enough lay some thick membrane then build up raised bed but I'm really not sure what I should be filling the area with.

I live in Glasgow Scotland and hoping to start with some basics. Completely open minded and would welcome any advice you may have. I've attached a photo of the bed so far. Still a bit of digging to do as you can see but will get there this week.

Thanks
    Nick

Attached Files:

2. CanadianLori

CanadianLori Total Gardener

Battle Axe
    Ratings:
    +30,616
    Welcome to the forum!

I know there are members here that hail from your neck of the woods who can offer great advice... @Sheal are you available to advise?

• Like Like x 2
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
    • Nikos Koukos

Nikos Koukos Gardener

Ratings:
      +12
      Thanks for this.

• Friendly Friendly x 1
      • Sheal

Sheal Total Gardener

Ratings:
        +52,612