Poor soil what to pl

Discussion in 'Allotments Discussion' started by adamadamant, May 3, 2024.

1. adamadamant

adamadamant Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    Hi I am only in my second year of caring for an allotment. Under a fig tree, against a fence, is a small bed of what looks like really shockingly poor soil, but I think the fig is extremely happy there judging by last year's fruit, so am reluctant to boost the soil too much. I am thinking of planting something underneath that I can dig in slowly over some years - would phacelia be OK if I allowed it to flower but cut it back before the seedheads ripened? Something that will bring in additional pollinators but would cope with the poor soil, but also won't be too invasive because of all the plots around. There's a decent amount of sun - the fig has been properly pruned. Any ideas and thanks?

2. Goldenlily26

Goldenlily26 Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +618
    I would leave it alone. Figs crop much better on poor soil and their roots do not spread so far. You say the fig seems very happy so why disturb the balance?
    Are you short of growing space wanting to fatten up the bed?
    I would not worry too much about encouraging pollinators, usually allotments have plenty of plants, crops or weeds, to encourage insects etc.

3. adamadamant

Ratings:
    +3
    More a question of aesthetics I think! And eagerness, the sign of a new allotment holder! You're probably right. And I am creating more work for myself. You speak wisdom. Thanks for your reply Goldenlily,

4. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
    Ratings:
    +87,178
    Probably going to be a bit dry underneath a fig tree to grow any thing of substance.
    Interesting that you have pruned it, not too much I hope. :smile:

5. adamadamant

Ratings:
    +3