USB v Memory Card

Discussion in 'Photography Talk' started by wiseowl, Jan 24, 2014.

  1. DIY-Dave

    DIY-Dave Gardener

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    733
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Ratings:
    +772
    • Like Like x 2
    • Sheal

      Sheal Total Gardener

      Joined:
      Feb 2, 2011
      Messages:
      35,789
      Gender:
      Female
      Location:
      Beauly, Inverness-shire. Zone 9a
      Ratings:
      +53,154
      I've put the new post on if you want to go back and read it Dave. :)
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • DIY-Dave

        DIY-Dave Gardener

        Joined:
        Jan 9, 2014
        Messages:
        733
        Gender:
        Male
        Location:
        Johannesburg, South Africa
        Ratings:
        +772
        Wow two years of repeated wash cycles, that card is most definitely toast.
        At least mystery solved.
         
        • Like Like x 1
        • Friendly Friendly x 1
        • Kristen

          Kristen Under gardener

          Joined:
          Jul 22, 2006
          Messages:
          17,534
          Gender:
          Male
          Location:
          Suffolk, UK
          Ratings:
          +12,668
          I use USB because the Canon software only downloads images not-yet-downloaded, and it puts them into folders organised & named with the date the photo was taken, plus it adds a Suffix ("Joe's Wedding" or whatever) to the folder name
           
        • ARMANDII

          ARMANDII Low Flying Administrator Staff Member

          Joined:
          Jan 12, 2019
          Messages:
          48,096
          Gender:
          Male
          Ratings:
          +100,838
          I never do. I download straight from the camera using a usb line to the computer. I'm not a fan of opening sealed compartments regularly unless I have to, such as the battery or the usb socket. But at least the K5 is weather sealed as are the battery and connections access points.:coffee:
           
          • Like Like x 1
          • wiseowl

            wiseowl FRIENDLY ADMIN Staff Member

            Joined:
            Oct 29, 2006
            Messages:
            44,435
            Gender:
            Male
            Occupation:
            Philosophy of people
            Location:
            In a barn somewhere in North Kent
            Ratings:
            +90,690
            Thanks you everyone,I usually use my memory card but will in future use my USB cable:)
             
            • Like Like x 1
            • Friendly Friendly x 1
            • JWK

              JWK Gardener Staff Member

              Joined:
              Jun 3, 2008
              Messages:
              31,300
              Gender:
              Male
              Location:
              Surrey
              Ratings:
              +47,108
              For once I think we actually have a consensus :)
               
              • Agree Agree x 2
              • Like Like x 1
              • pete

                pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

                Joined:
                Jan 9, 2005
                Messages:
                48,945
                Gender:
                Male
                Occupation:
                Retired
                Location:
                Mid Kent
                Ratings:
                +87,960
                I'm obviously doing something wrong.
                I just stick the SD card in the slot and the pc downloads them for me.
                Always found using a USB via the Nikon software a complete pain in the arris.
                Been doing for 5yrs now with the same card.
                 
                • Funny Funny x 1
                • ARMANDII

                  ARMANDII Low Flying Administrator Staff Member

                  Joined:
                  Jan 12, 2019
                  Messages:
                  48,096
                  Gender:
                  Male
                  Ratings:
                  +100,838
                  I don't understand why?? It takes about 5 seconds to connect the USB cable to the camera and computer and less than that for the computer to start down loading.......I'm happy with that.:snork:
                   
                  • Friendly Friendly x 1
                  • Webmaster

                    Webmaster Webmaster Staff Member

                    Joined:
                    Dec 21, 2004
                    Messages:
                    5,040
                    Gender:
                    Male
                    Location:
                    GC central
                    Ratings:
                    +2,955
                    I would always use a USB lead to transfer data from camera/phone.

                    My current phone (Galaxy S4) allows me to Download/Upload via a piece of software called 'Kies Air', which lets my phone connect to my home network and transfers everything 'wirelessly'

                    It can be a pain as well though, as I have to be on top of updates more.
                     
                    • Like Like x 1
                    • Friendly Friendly x 1
                    • pete

                      pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

                      Joined:
                      Jan 9, 2005
                      Messages:
                      48,945
                      Gender:
                      Male
                      Occupation:
                      Retired
                      Location:
                      Mid Kent
                      Ratings:
                      +87,960
                      Its a long time since I tried it, but I seem to remember the Nikon software wanted to down load to its own space on my PC, it then seemed to think I wanted to edit every picture.

                      All I want is the pics transferred to my hard drive, and windows does that very simply and easily, just by sticking the SD card in the slot.:)
                       
                      • Like Like x 1
                      • Friendly Friendly x 1
                      • Derbyshire

                        Derbyshire Gardener

                        Joined:
                        Jan 12, 2014
                        Messages:
                        81
                        Gender:
                        Female
                        Occupation:
                        IT Trainer
                        Location:
                        Derbyshire
                        Ratings:
                        +84
                        USB for camera to pc/mac direct. Simples
                         
                        • Like Like x 1
                        • Agree Agree x 1
                        • ARMANDII

                          ARMANDII Low Flying Administrator Staff Member

                          Joined:
                          Jan 12, 2019
                          Messages:
                          48,096
                          Gender:
                          Male
                          Ratings:
                          +100,838
                          Gotcha. Pete.:snork: Well, as you point out it was the camera software that was causing the problem. I have the Silkypix, Lightroom 4, and Photoshop CS6 and I don't use them to download otherwise they take control of the images every time so, like you, I use Windows to download and then decide what software I want to use from then on.
                           
                          • Like Like x 1
                          • Sheal

                            Sheal Total Gardener

                            Joined:
                            Feb 2, 2011
                            Messages:
                            35,789
                            Gender:
                            Female
                            Location:
                            Beauly, Inverness-shire. Zone 9a
                            Ratings:
                            +53,154
                            I think I'm missing something here, :doh:does this mean using a USB you need software to download the pictures? I've only ever used a card to transfer my pictures directly to my picture files on the computer.
                             
                            • Agree Agree x 1
                            • ARMANDII

                              ARMANDII Low Flying Administrator Staff Member

                              Joined:
                              Jan 12, 2019
                              Messages:
                              48,096
                              Gender:
                              Male
                              Ratings:
                              +100,838

                              Well, the Windows software is already in your computer, Sheal, and that will talk to your camera and download it to your Photograph Library File automatically. But most Cameras will come with it's own software disc that you can download and it will come up as an option to use it to download but the downside, to me, for that is that that software will "control" the images in a separate file.:dunno::hate-shocked:
                               
                              • Informative Informative x 1
                              Loading...

                              Share This Page

                              1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
                                By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
                                Dismiss Notice