1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

1st Time Toms and Cucumbers

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by ncd72, Jul 8, 2009.

1. ncd72

ncd72 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all - a great site - having a good look through now!

Anyway, this is my first year with the greenhouse - 8x6 allu/glass so please bear with me.
    I've got some alicante toms in some 10/12 in pots which are now about 3ft tall. All have 2/3/4 trusses on with the flowers but only one's got tomatoes on - and that only one green one about the size of a malteeser!
    Im watering every couple of days at the momemt but while it was hot it was every day.
    I've picked all the sideshoots out as they've come on as advised.
    Anyone any ideas - or is it just a waiting game and i'm just panicking?

Also a cucumber plant my brother gave me - not sure which variety - prickly appearance if that's any help which is now about 3 1/2 ft tall - it has about 10 cucumbers on it with the flower on the end doesn,t seem to be growing either - some of the lower cucumbers have turned a yellow colour and as i say they are very small!

Not sure what's going on!

Anyone able to help?

All help appreciated and always willing to learn

thanks in advance

Neil

2. shiney

shiney President, Grumpy Old Men's Club Staff Member

Retired - Last Century!!!
    Ratings:
    +118,517
    Welcome to GC Neil :gnthb:

You'll get loads of good advice on here.